Jay
Hi all,

ordered an iPhone 7 Screen from Replace Base, not ordered many from RB.

I paid more than the cheaper ones on their website.

on powering up the iPhone 7 it shows the Apple logo, doesn't boot to the main screen.

I have connected the original screen that worked fine, albeit cracked and the iPhone boots up fine.

now I'm in the situation where the Touch ID and home button is not working with the original screen on?, was working fine when the customer gave me the iPhone.

I have been doing repairs for several years, I order from a few suppliers and I know on occasions you can get a suspect part, I'm not naive to this and I've experienced it personally.

I will send back the screen not a problem (I've been assured I will be refunded my postage, only 1st class recorded on £90+ screen)

Why would the Touch ID / home button stop working, even on the original screen when it worked before? I'm baffled by this.

Seems odd after fitting a advertised OEM screen from RB that I now face these issues, and just for info the home button was taken off with care and the other cables, no damage, tears at all.

any advice appreciated.

UPDATED BY RB: Removed irrelevant content - any issues with returns please contact RB admin, Steve@replacebase.co.uk or sales@replacebase.co.uk
Quote 0 0
Jay
Interesting, got this from ifixit forum.

i will soon find out when I try the other screens I've ordered, if this is the case then I will have to put my customers original screen back on fully, send him to Apple to try his luck.

I have unplugged the battery and left it, reconnected and still no Touch ID.

seems like a dodgy screen has taken out the Touch ID in the process, brilliant RB.

I'm hot & bothered and pi$$ed off.

IMG_0814.PNG
Quote 0 0
Jay
I have received 2 other screens from another supplier, both do not allow the home button / Touch ID to work.